State Heritage Register Committee

The State Heritage Register Committee, under delegated authority from the Heritage Council of NSW, makes recommendations to the Minister for the listing of items on the State Heritage Register, and also provides advice to the Council. The committee meets monthly.

Ms Sheridan Burke


Sheridan Burke trained in urban planning, architecture, education and tourism management and consults on heritage issues in private practice, based in Sydney, Australia. Her senior management experience extends across government, NGOs and the private sector, leading teams in strategic heritage site management planning, interpretation and museum management projects. Her work in cultural heritage management over 35 years has encompassed the Heritage Council of NSW; the Historic Houses Trust and as a former Partner and Director at GML Heritage. Modern heritage is her specialist interest- she is currently working with the Getty Conservation Institute’s Keeping it Modern program, delivering international conservation management planning courses. Her recent publications include the Eames House Conservation Management Plan (GCI 2018) and Paddington: A History (NewSouth Books 2019).

Sheridan has been appointed as an expert member of the Sydney Opera House Conservation Council; and its Eminent Architects Panel, as well as several Planning Panels in NSW. She is an Adjunct Professor at the University of Canberra, actively mentoring emerging professionals,

Sheridan has served as an International Vice-President of ICOMOS; as President of its Advisory Committee, and as President of its Twentieth Century ISC. She has strong credentials in reviewing cultural heritage nominations and state of conservation reports for World Heritage sites and World Monuments Watch. Sheridan was awarded Australia ICOMOS honorary membership in 2015.

Ms Colleen Morris

Deputy Chair

Colleen Morris is a landscape heritage consultant, author and curator with expertise in the areas of cultural landscape assessment, garden history and conservation management. She has, with other consultants, prepared conservation plans for some of Australia's most significant historic gardens, including the botanic gardens of Adelaide and Sydney and Sydney’s Government House and Domain.

She is particularly interested in the management of cultural landscapes, how they enrich our lives and the stories they tell about our communities. Colleen’s work includes the Berrima Sutton Forest and Exeter Cultural Landscape Study, and participation in the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) NSW Landscape Heritage Conservation Listing Project.

Colleen is the Deputy Chair of the National Trust (NSW) Landscape Conservation Committee, is on the committee of The Florilegium Society at the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust, Sydney and is a Member of ICOMOS. She was the National Chair of the Australian Garden History Society 2003-2009. Her publications include the award winning Lost gardens of Sydney (2008) and The Florilegium, The Royal Botanic Gardens Sydney (2016).

Dr Brian Lindsay


Brian completed undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in History at the Universities of Sydney and New South Wales, respectively, with a focus on nationalism and the ways in which places and representations of place inform our understandings of history and shared identity. He was awarded his PhD for his thesis “Darkening Frontier, Vanishing Outback: Film, Landscape and National Identities in Australia and the United States”.

For over a decade, he worked in state politics, including several years as Chief of Staff to the President of the Legislative Council. His responsibilities included research, administration, governance and protocol, and he drew on his training as an historian to design, curate and manage the Parliament’s major 2015 exhibition “Politics & Sacrifice” which marked the centenary of Anzac. He edited the commemorative book that accompanied the exhibition and also wrote many of the Statements about the Centenary of the First World War read in the Chambers each sitting week by the Presiding Officers.

In 2008, Brian completed a study of many of the notable pioneers families that settled in around the town of Bungendore in regional New South Wales, conveying stories from their arrivals as convicts and settlers in the early nineteenth century through several generations to the Great Depression. In recent years he has published several titles concerning the annual film awards season, including a four volume reference work. His articles about the Academy Awards have appeared in The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian.

Since 2019, Brian has served as the Chair of the State Archives and Records Authority of New South Wales. He is passionate about improving the discoverability of the Archives’ extraordinary collection and ensuring the NSW State Archives are a world leader in record-keeping, accessibility, and practices that allow for the inclusion of voices traditionally omitted from official records.

Ms Lisa Newell


Lisa has been a member of the State Heritage Register Committee since 2014 and was the National Trust representative to the Heritage Council of NSW from 2014-2018. She was also honoured with the National Trust Meritorious Award in 2018.

Lisa has over 25 years urban planning and heritage management experience with local, State and Commonwealth governments and in consultancy firms. Lisa is an Associate Member of the Planning Institute of Australia (NSW) and has a BA in Urban and Economic Geography and Archaeology. Lisa is a member of the Industrial Archaeology Sub-Committee of the National Trust (NSW) and has formerly been a member of the Archaeology and Moveable Heritage Advisory Panels of the NSW Heritage Council.

Lisa is a qualified and experienced town planner as well as a heritage expert and specialises in two, often inter-related, areas: managing strategic land use planning projects; and managing complex heritage issues associated with proposed major developments and planning proposals. Lisa also has a strong background in leading multi-disciplinary project teams in the government and private sectors and developing strategies, practice and policies associated with land use and heritage planning.

Mr Paul Knight


Mr Steven Barry


Dr Wayne Johnson


Ms Lisa Murray